Natural Product Biotechnology Group
Home Group Leader Publication People Research Facilities Teaching IIT Kharagpur

Debabrata Sircar, Doctoral Researcher, 2005-2010
Ph. D., IIT Kharagpur, Granted November 2009
Thesis: Enzymatic route to 4-hydroxybenzoic acid formation in hairy roots of Daucus carota.
Awards: DAAD short-term fellowship in Germany (June-Dec., 2008); CSIR-UGC NET (JRF-individual); Qualified in GATE 2004

Currently: FCT-Postdoctoral Fellow (individual), University of Evora (Portugal)

Moumita Chakraborty, Doctoral Researcher, 2004-2008
Ph. D., IIT Kharagpur, Granted August 2008
Thesis: Phytochemistry of phenyl propanoids derivates from mesocarp tissues and endosperm cell cultures of Cocos nucifera.
Awards: Qualified in GATE 2003; One-year Institute Research Assistantship
Currently: Postdoctoral Fellow, Washington State Unversity (United States)

Sudhamoy Mandal, Doctoral Researcher, 2003-2006
Ph. D., IIT Kharagpur, Granted December 2008
Thesis: Biochemical characterization of induced defense in tomato against Fusarium oxysporum f.sp. lycopersici.
Awards: Study leave sponsored by ICAR

Currently: Scientist, Central Horticultural Experiment Station-ICAR, Bhubaneswar (Orissa)

Ashish Sachan, Doctoral Researcher, 2002-2006

Ph. D., IIT Kharagpur, Granted September 2007

M. Tech (Applied Botany), IIT Kharagpur, 2001

Thesis: Bioconversion of 4-coumaric acid into 4-hyroxybenzoic acid and caffeic acid by selected microorganisms.

Awards: Institute Research Scholarship

Currently:Assistant Professor, Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra (Jharkhand)

Shashwati Ghosh, Doctoral Researcher, 2002-2007
Ph. D., IIT Kharagpur, Granted March 2007
Thesis: Microbial transformation of ferulic acid to vanillin and vanillic acid.
Awards: CSIR-Senior Research Fellowship (individual)
Currently: Assistant Professor, Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra (Jharkhand)

Copyright 2011 © All rights reserved.